…Adja…

March 16, 2014

this article is in English
I couldn´t forget this girl. She was a bit younger than me and we met in Ghana – my very first trip to Africa and completely on my own (still not sure, how I got the balls to do it, but it was the best decision in my life )

I came to a hostel in a very dark part of Accra and there she was. A bit shy, but smiley all the time. She came from Burkina Faso and spoke brilliant French – which is not very useful in English- speaking Ghana though.

DSCF5360

As I was one of the few people, who actually spoke French, we started to talk and soon enough got quite close.
We were discussing our girly daily things, talking about our homes, those who were waiting there, snow, selling oranges, hair breeding….she also started to learn some English, showed me how to wash clothes properly…

Adja was in Ghana for several months to help her older aunt, to help her in the last months of pregnancy as she couldn´t conceive for a while so she went to Ghana where the medical care is apparently better than in Burkina. The lady, who was then in her fourties spent the whole pregnancy in this tiny hostel in a place where pretty much no one spoke her language. Only for the past few months Adja was sent to help her.

One day I came back from my internship, feeling a bit cold, sneezing, not perfect stomach…and yes, hot and cold. Adja and her aunt gave me some herbal tea, and were so nice to me. I was getting worse and worse, and starting to freak out – this, actually, probably is the freaking malaria, that I was so afraid to get. I went to Adja …and well, burst in tears. “J´ai peur,” I whispered. I was mortified of being ill, I never was in a hospital even in Czech!

Ghana

Ghana

“You will be fine, don´t worry,” she said and helped me to get the other people – Nana, the local angel, Bruno the anthropologist from Brazil, then they got a taxi and drove me to hospital.
By that time I didn´t knew much what was happening around, only that in my hands and tongue I was feeling some weird crumps…after a night in hospital, s..t loads of drugs, both in a drip and eaten I was allowed to go back home.
Adja helped me there, helped me to put clean sheets on the bed. Kept on feeding me with food, sweets, herbal tea.
The months I was about to spend in Ghana fleew by, baby George was born, healthy and strong, even though a bit tiny and it was time for both of us to go.
We exchanged numbers, but they didn´t work very well, and Adja tried to call my landline, but she spoke only French, and I wasn´t there and my parents spoke only English. I thought I lost her…..
…TO BE CONTINUED…

Leave a Reply

